Repository maintenance helps optimize the Corso repository as backups are created and possibly deleted by the user. Maintenance can also free up space by removing data no longer referenced by any backups from the repository.
It's safe to run maintenance concurrently with backup, restore, and backup deletion operations. However, it's not safe to run maintenance operations concurrently on the same repository. Corso uses file locks and the idea of a repository owner to try to detect concurrent maintenance operations.
The repository owner is set to the user and hostname of the machine that runs maintenance on the repo the first time.
If the user and hostname of the machine running maintenance can change, use either the
--force flag or the
--force flag updates the repository owner and runs maintenance.
--host flags act as if the given user/hostname owns the repository for the maintenance operation but
doesn't update repo owner info.
If any of these flags are passed the user must make sure no concurrent maintenance operations run on the same repository. Concurrent maintenance operations a repository may result in data loss.
Corso allows for two different types of maintenance:
Metadata maintenance runs quickly and optimizes indexing data. Complete maintenance takes more time but compacts data in backups and removes unreferenced data from the repository.
As Corso allows concurrent backups during maintenance, running complete maintenance immediately after deleting a backup may not result in a reduction of objects in the storage service Corso is backing up to.
Deletion of old objects in the storage service depends on both wall-clock time and running maintenance.
Later maintenance runs on the repository will remove the data.
For the best experience, the recommendation is to run metadata maintenance every 20–30 backups. Complete maintenance should be run every 1–2 weeks depending on how many backups are deleted from the repo. More backup deletions means that complete maintenance should be run more often so that unneeded blobs in storage get deleted.
Not running maintenance exactly according to the recommendations won't impact the correctness of the data in the repo, but could result in decreased performance.